Jonathan Crow and Appalachian Spring


Concert Information

Performance dates
Alain Trudel, conductor
Jonathan Crow, violin
On the program

José Evangelista: Symphonie minute
Samuel Barber: Adagio
Erich Korngold: Violin Concerto
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring

Sponsored by

Symphony Nova Scotia performs some of the biggest symphonic hits in North American history. Experience the rich, radiant beauty of Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring alongside Samuel Barber’s heart-wrenching Adagio for Strings, a piece that “rarely leaves a dry eye” and has become a pop-culture hit. Plus, the Toronto Symphony’s virtuoso concertmaster Jonathan Crow joins us for Erich Korngold’s lush Violin Concerto – a sweeping, romantic work that showcases this Oscar-winning composer’s best themes for film.

Take a listen to Aaron Copland’s iconic Appalachian Spring.

Pre-concert chat

Join us for a FREE pre-concert chat at 6:45 pm in the Sculpture Court (just outside the Rebecca Cohn auditorium).

Post-Concert Q&A

Join us for a FREE post-concert Q&A immediately after the concert in the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium.

Ticket info

Tickets are on sale now! Save up to 35%, reserve the best seats in the house, and enjoy a great set of benefits with a ticket package. Click here to learn more about ticket packages, or call the Dalhousie Arts Centre Box Office at 902.494.3820 to book your tickets today.