Lemieux and Lee Play Vaughan Williams

Concert Information

Performance dates
Rei Hotoda, conductor
Mark Lee, violin
Suzanne Lemieux, oboe
On the program

Vivian Fung: Sinfonietta
Vaughan Williams: Oboe Concerto
Vaughan Williams: A Lark Ascending
Haydn: Symphony no. 94 “Surprise”

Sponsored by

It’s been called soaring, glorious, and transcendent, notoriously difficult to play, and Britain’s favourite piece of classical music. For the first time in over a decade, Symphony Nova Scotia presents Vaughan Williams’ iconic A Lark Ascending, featuring the orchestra’s own virtuoso violinist Mark Lee. The fireworks continue with Vaughan Williams’ Oboe Concerto, performed by the masterful Suzanne Lemieux, and Haydn’s delightful “Surprise” Symphony.

Take a listen to Vaughan Williams’ iconic piece, A Lark Ascending:

"This program is intensely personal to me and features music that represents what it is like to return to something. I am returning to Canada, a home away from home, and I will be collaborating not only with one of Canada’s foremost orchestras, but also the amazing talents of Principal Oboe Suzanne Lemieux and Assistant Concertmaster Mark Lee. I look forward to sharing the stage with Symphony Nova Scotia and sharing the program with the audience."

Rei Hotoda, conductor

Pre-concert chat

Join us for a FREE pre-concert chat at 6:45 pm in the Sculpture Court (just outside the Rebecca Cohn auditorium).

Post-Concert Q&A

Join us for a FREE post-concert Q&A immediately after the concert in the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium.

Ticket info

Tickets are on sale now! Save up to 35%, reserve the best seats in the house, and enjoy a great set of benefits with a ticket package. Click here to learn more about ticket packages, or call the Dalhousie Arts Centre Box Office at 902.494.3820 to book your tickets today.