Mr. and Mrs. Schumann

Concert Information

Performance dates
Jean-Michel Malouf, conductor
Angela Cheng, piano
Andrea Ludwig, mezzo-soprano
Symphony Nova Scotia
On the program

Murray Schafer: Adieu, Robert Schumann
Clara Wieck Schumann: Piano Concerto
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 3, “Rhenish”

Robert and Clara Schumann were music’s original power couple – beloved, accomplished, and notorious for their scandalous, tragic, and inspirational love story. It was only thanks to Clara’s wholehearted support that Robert’s masterful music – like the rich, rhythmic “Rhenish” Symphony – achieved worldwide fame, but it was at the expense of her own virtuosic works, which remain forgotten today. To that end, in this long-overdue concert, Symphony Nova Scotia welcomes award-winning Canadian pianist Angela Cheng to the stage – and together, we salute Clara’s brilliance with our first-ever performance of her gracious, delightful Piano Concerto.

Pre-concert chat

Enjoy FREE pre-concert chats before our Masterworks concerts. Join us 45 minutes before concert start time in the Sculpture Court, just outside the auditorium.

Ticket info

Season tickets are on sale now! Save up to 35%, reserve the best seats in the house, and enjoy a great set of benefits with a ticket package. Click here to learn more about ticket packages, or call the Dalhousie Arts Centre Box Office at 902.494.3820 to book your tickets today. Single tickets will go on sale on August 1, 2019.