Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto

Concert Information

Performance dates
Thu. February 27, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Natalie Murray Beale, conductor
Serhiy Salov, piano
Symphony Nova Scotia
On the program

Anton Arensky: Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky
Beethoven: Symphony No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1

Ukrainian-born pianist Serhiy Salov is one of Canada’s rising piano virtuosos. He’s a multi-award-winning “powerhouse player” (Winnipeg Free Press) with “glittering technique” (Gramophone), who plays with “fire, imagination, and electricity” (Classical Voice). Hear Serhiy make his Symphony Nova Scotia debut with one of the world’s most beloved piano masterworks – Tchaikovsky’s moving, grandiose, and explosive Piano Concerto No. 1. Our orchestra also performs a beautiful hit from Russian composer Anton Arensky, alongside Beethoven’s first “Grande Simphonie” – the trailblazing, irreverent masterpiece that staked his claim as the rising King of the Symphony.

Pre-concert chat

Enjoy FREE pre-concert chats before our Masterworks concerts. Join us 45 minutes before concert start time in the Sculpture Court, just outside the auditorium.

Ticket info

Single tickets are on sale now, and start at $35 (HST included) for most concerts! You can also save up to 35%, reserve the best seats in the house, and enjoy a great set of benefits with a ticket package. Click here to learn more about ticket packages, or call the Dalhousie Arts Centre Box Office at 902.494.3820 to book your tickets today.