James Ehnes and Andrew Armstrong: Lark Ascending

Concert Information

Performance dates
James Ehnes, violin
Andrew Armstrong, piano
Dinuk Wijeratne, conductor
Symphony Nova Scotia
On the program

Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Beethoven: Sonata No. 3 in E-flat major
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto

Dedicated to Peggy Corkum through the cooperation of Cecilia Concerts, Scotia Festival of Music, and Symphony Nova Scotia.

James Ehnes is a Canadian legend, one of the world’s great musicians, and “a violinist in a class of his own” (The Times). And Andrew Armstrong is an award-winning, critically acclaimed pianist, praised for his “beautifully expressive and virtuosic pianism” (The Strad). Now, in fond memory of Halifax arts supporter Peggy Corkum, these two musical giants join Symphony Nova Scotia for a rare blockbuster concert of major symphonic masterworks. Hear Ehnes perform Vaughan Williams’ soaring, transcendent, and notoriously difficult The Lark Ascending, followed by a duo performance of Beethoven’s beautiful Sonata No. 3. Then, in a spectacular finale, Armstrong plays Tchaikovsky’s breathtaking, show-stopping Piano Concerto, one of the most popular concertos in the world.



Halifax lost one of its most steadfast performing arts champions with the recent passing of Peggy Corkum at age 93. Peggy had a boundless passion for enjoying and encouraging classical music, and she benevolently gave financial support to many local arts organizations. To learn more about Peggy, click here.

Proceeds from this concert will be shared among Cecilia Concerts, Scotia Festival of Music, and Symphony Nova Scotia.



Tickets range from $45-$100, HST included, and are available through the Dalhousie Arts Centre Box Office by phone at 902.494.3820 or online here.