The Pjila’si Sessions: Alan Syliboy & the Thundermakers


Alan Syliboy, vocals and drum
Hubert Francis, vocals and guitar
Aaron Prosper, vocals and hand drum
Joanne Hatfield, vocals, percussion, and guitar
Evan Syliboy, guitar
Matt Gallant, drums
Lukas Pearse, fretless electric bass
Sarah Prosper, interpretive dancer
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, conductor
Symphony Nova Scotia

On the Program:
Marks on the Ground
Mother Earth’s Warning
Mi’kmaq Hunting Song
Farewell to Tarwathie
Hubert’s Whale Song
Powwow Fever
Marks on the Ground (Reprise)

Millbrook’s Alan Syliboy is a visionary, multi-disciplinary, multi-award-winning Mi’kmaw artist. Together with his band The Thundermakers, he weaves together storytelling, spoken word, improvisation, dance, and multimedia art to create a deep, immersive musical tapestry that explores the themes of searching, spirituality, struggle, stewardship, and reconciliation. Now, following on his acclaimed 2021 collaboration with Symphony Nova Scotia, Alan partners with musicians from our orchestra to create an all-new, online-only multimedia experience honouring the natural world around us.

Sponsored by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Government of Canada, and the Province of Nova Scotia.

Whale video provided courtesy of Jean-Michel Cousteau’s Ocean Futures Society. Humpback whale footage was conducted under NOAA Permit No. 642-1536-01 issued to Dr. Joseph Mobley, Jr.