Mendelssohn & Dvořák’s New World

Thu. November 14, 2024 at 7:30 pm

Julien Proulx, conductor
Geneva Lewis, violin
Symphony Nova Scotia
On the program

James Lee III: Emotive Transformations
Felix Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E Minor
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

The “New World” Symphony is a captivating work full of beautiful melodies and rich dynamics. This late 19th-century composition is considered one of Dvořák’s most recognizable and evocative works, conjuring powerful images of the North American landscape. The symphony’s unique fusion of European classical music with African American and Native American melodies and rhythms is a testament to the power of art in bridging cultures and bringing people together. Plus, Kiwi/American violinist Geneva Lewis – who has forged a reputation as a musician of consummate artistry with heartfelt performances – joins us for a performance of Mendelssohn’s final Violin Concerto. Lauded for “remarkable mastery of her instrument” (CVNC) and hailed as “clearly one to watch” (Musical America), Lewis is the recipient of a 2022 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and among BBC’s New Generation Artists.

Ticket info

Ticket packages are on sale now! Save up to 25%, reserve the best seats in the house, and enjoy a great set of benefits when you subscribe. Click here to learn more about ticket packages or call the Dalhousie Arts Centre Box Office at 902.494.3820 to book your tickets today. Single tickets will go on sale on August 7, 2024.